image

Paul Andrew

Founder, President

Email: president@sekas.co.uk

Paul is the Honorary President of the society that he founded back in 1972.  He is a Proffesional photographer and educator, with a passion for astronomy that led to starting the society more than 40 years ago.

13925853_10153615154051058_5078167689679538498_o

Ben Harding

Chairman

Email: chairman@sekas.co.uk

Ben joined the society about 10 years ago, and has become one of our most popular members, he is dedicated to his local school Astronomy club, and cleverly rebuilds scopes for the pupils out of salvaged telescope parts. Ben became Chairman in March 2017.

Screen Shot 2015-06-14 at 21.21.42

Adam Leach

Web and Technology Team and Observatory Director

Email: webandtech@sekas.co.uk

Email: observatory@sekas.co.uk

Adam is a long-time visual observer and slightly less-long-time astronomical imager. As one half of the SEKAS Web and Technology team, his big wish is to take the society forward and promote and aid the use of modern and emerging technology as part of the way to to do so.  He is also the current Observatory Director.

Screen Shot 2015-06-15 at 21.21.17

Lee Phillips

Web and Technology Team 

Email: webandtech@sekas.co.uk

Lee joined the society in 1997.  He’s a dedicated Astrophotographer.  He and Adam formed the Web and Technology Team in 2015 to revamp the SEKAS website, and to promote uses of technology in astronomy and astro-imaging.

Martin Jachnik

Treasurer & Membership Secretary

Email: treasurer2@sekas.co.uk

Martin has recently taken over the role of Treasurer from long-term treasurer Alan Woodgett. Picture and info to follow soon!

Melanie Stevenson

Secretary

Email: secretary@sekas.co.uk

Melanie has recently taken over the role of SEKAS secretary.  Picture and Info to follow shortly!

JohnM

John Male

Programme Secretary

Email: programme@sekas.co.uk

John is a long-term SEKAS member who has fulfilled the role of planning the SEKAS meetings, including the fantastic range of speakers that we get to hear from, for the last few years.

Paul T

Paul Thomsett

Eclipse Editor

Email: editor@sekas.co.uk

Paul has been a member of SEKAS since the early 70s, and is a prolific visual observer.  He’s the current editor of the SEKAS magazine, Eclipse.

Meet the Committee